The College distributes a bi-weekly newsletter to Nova Scotia social worker members to keep them informed, engaged and connected with the social work community. This members-only newsletter includes College news, professional development opportunities, upcoming events & more.

If you are an NSCSW member and you have not been receiving the newsletter, please contact Communication Coordinator Rebecca Faria ([email protected]) to check your subscription status.

Have something to say?

Are you holding a conference or workshop? Announcing publication of a social work text? Seeking participants for social work research or a community of practice? Our newsletter reaches over 2000 members across Nova Scotia.

We accept brief submissions for our newsletter, to a maximum of 50 words each (no images or attachments). Content must be of interest to Nova Scotia social workers, and all submissions are subject to editing for tone, style and clarity.

If there is a problem with your submission, we may contact you to correct it before publication; if the issue cannot be corrected we will refund your payment. Rates are as follows:

  • NSCSW policy partner: no charge
  • Member fee: $20 per issue
  • Not-for-profit: $25 per issue
  • Government: $100 per issue
  • Business: $75 per issue

We also share employment listings; these are hosted on a job board on our website, but they can also be included in the newsletter (at no additional cost) if received in time. To be eligible for inclusion in the newsletter, job listings must be open for applications for at least one day after the newsletter will be sent, and must be received before Tuesday that week (newsletters are sent every other Thursday; see schedule below).

If you have any questions about advertising in our newsletter, please contact our communication coordinator Rebecca Faria at [email protected].

Complete this form to submit your social work event or job posting for consideration. If you do not have a web address please include a direct contact.

Newsletter submission & distribution dates (2022)

Submit item by: Tuesday, Jan 11
Distribution date:
Thursday, Jan 13

Submit item by: Tuesday, Jan 25
Distribution date:
Thursday, Jan 27

Submit item by: Tuesday, Feb 8
Distribution date:
Thursday, Feb 10

Submit item by: Tuesday, Feb 22
Distribution date:
Thursday, Feb 24

Submit item by: Tuesday, Mar 8
Distribution date:
Thursday, Mar 10

Submit item by: Tuesday, Mar 22
Distribution date:
Thursday, Mar 24

Submit item by: Tuesday, Apr 5
Distribution date:
Thursday, Apr 7

Submit item by: Tuesday, Apr 19
Distribution date:
Thursday, Apr 21

Submit item by: Tuesday, May 3
Distribution date:
Thursday, May 5

Submit item by: Tuesday, May 17
Distribution date:
Thursday, May 19

and so on

Questions? Contact the College’s Communications Coordinator, Rebecca Faria, at [email protected].

Need more room to share your story?

Consider advertising your organization, event or professional development program in the College’s professional magazine, Connection.

Connection magazine is distributed directly to over 2000 social workers and is also read by government, community groups & more.